Senior Secondary Curriculum


For the purpose of fostering competences in our students, the curriculum encompasses nine major learning areas, which are: Languages, Humanities, Mathematics, Science and Technology, General Studies, and Health and Physical Education.

These areas are broadly divided into Scholastic and Co-scholastic areas as detailed below:

Scholastic Areas

English Core
Science and Technology
Fine Arts
Co-scholastic Areas Health & Physical Education

Scholastic Areas:

The curriculum envisages individualized personal learning acumen and seeks to explore the potential of students in acquiring substantial acknowledge and skills through academic rigors. With greater academic orientation and research skills in core academic areas, students would evolve as discerning young adults with a sense of real self-estimate having true values and principles.

The scholastic areas are as follows:

[A] Languages - The curricula in languages focus on listening, speaking, reading and writing skills and, hence, develop effective  communicative proficiencies. Learners use language to comprehend, acquire and communicate ideas.

[B] Science and Technology (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Computer Science Information Practices) – Subject include gaining knowledge about matter and energy, nature, the environment, technology, breakthroughs in science. The focus is on knowledge and skills to develop a scientific attitude and to use and apply such knowledge for improving the quality of life. This learning can be used to analyze, evaluate, synthesize and create.

[C] Mathematics - Subject includes acquiring the concepts related to number sense, operation sense, computation, measurement, geometry, probability and statistics, the skill to calculate and organize, and the ability to apply this knowledge and acquired skills in their daily life. It also includes understanding of the principles of reasoning and problem solving.

[D] Commerce (Business Studies, Accountancy & Economics) - Subject includes gaining understanding about core business disciplines like the exchange of items of value or products between persons or companies and any such exchange of money for a product, service, or information is considered a deal of commerce.

[E] Humanities (Geography, History, Economics, Home Science, Sociology, Fine Arts & Political Science) - Humanities include the learning of history and culture, geographical environment, global institutions, constitutional values and norms, politics, economy, interpersonal and societal interactions, civic responsibilities and the incorporation of the above-mentioned learning.

[F] Fine Arts - Aims to help learners cultivate an interest and appreciation for arts and encourage them to enthusiastically participate in related activities, thus, promoting abilities such as imagination, creativity, value arts, and the cultural heritage.

Co- Scholastic Areas:

It is a well-known fact that only a healthy student can learn effectively and good health status leads to better learning. Many other activities are necessary for development of the affective and psychomotor domain. Those activities like games and sport, art and music, craft work etc. are termed as co-scholastic activities. Instead of co-curricular activities, the term co-scholastic activities are used as both cognitive and non-cognitive development can take place by exposing the student to the lesson on scholastic subjects and non-scholastic subjects. Health and Physical education is integral part of the curriculum and would be in the routine of the schools for the holistic development of our students.